Comparative wood anatomy and evolution of the cunoniaceae

Dickison, W.C.

Allertonia 2(5): 281-321


DOI: 10.2307/23187391
Accession: 005002895

Download citation:  

Article/Abstract emailed within 0-6 h
Payments are secure & encrypted
Powered by Stripe
Powered by PayPal

The family Cunoniaceae consists of woody dicotyledonous plants restricted to the southern hemisphere. A total of 19 genera are recognized in the family and are distributed in the Australasian and New Caledonian area. Woods of 77 spp. were studied. Generic descriptions are provided for: Lamanonia, Geissosis, Spiraeanthemum, Acsmithia, Aistopetalum, Gillbeea, Platylophus, Caldcluvia, Calycomis, Schizomeria, Ceratopetalum, Anodopetalum, Pseudoweinmannia, Vesselowskay, Cunonia, Weinmannia, Pancheria, Callicoma, Codia, Pullea and Bauera. The xylem anatomy of the Cunoniaceae is summarized. Ecophyletic significance of wood anatomical characters is discussed. Comments are made on infrafamilial systematics and relationships to other families.